Mathematics

Mathematics is a core subject and as such is studied by every student in the school from Year 7 to Year 11. Mathematics is an all-embracing and pervading part of life. It helps us to creates, plan, organise and solve problems.

The department, therefore, has a responsibility to create an environment whereby students are encouraged and stimulated to develop a positive attitude towards mathematics and acquire the necessary concepts, skills and knowledge.

Key Stage 3

Students in Year 7 and Year 8 follow the National Curriculum for mathematics as described in the National Numeracy Strategy. They are taught using a Maths Mastery approach.

Year 9 students follow the GCSE specification.

Key Stage 4

All the students study GCSE Mathematics; in addition, students in the separate sciences band also study GCSE Further Mathematics.

Students are assessed on ability and entered for the appropriate tier. They will be regularly assessed using grades 9 – 1 throughout the course.

Mathematics is examined in two tiers:

  • Foundation for Grades 1 – 5
  • Higher for Grades 5 – 9

Students complete 3 written exams at the end of year 11. Students will require a scientific calculator for papers 2 and 3.

Last updated: 03-05-18

Key Staff

Miss A Agar :
Leading Practitioner

Name: Miss A Agar

Role: Leading Practitioner

Email: AAgar@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss J Anderson :
Teacher

Name: Miss J Anderson

Role: Teacher

Email: JAnderson@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss R Smith :
Teacher

Name: Miss R Smith

Role: Teacher

Email: RSmith@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss S Grainger :
Subject Leader

Name: Miss S Grainger

Role: Subject Leader

Email: SGrainger@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss S Tallintire :
Teacher

Name: Miss S Tallintire

Role: Teacher

Email: stallintire@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr A Gordon :
Teacher

Name: Mr A Gordon

Role: Teacher

Email: agordon@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr A Williams :
Teacher

Name: Mr A Williams

Role: Teacher

Email: AWilliams1@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr K Haswell :
SENCO

Name: Mr K Haswell

Role: SENCO

Email: KHaswell@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr M Close :
Teacher in Charge of Assess, Rep, Rec(KS

Name: Mr M Close

Role: Teacher in Charge of Assess, Rep, Rec(KS3/4)

Email: MClose@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr M Stevenson :
Leading Practitioner

Name: Mr M Stevenson

Role: Leading Practitioner

Email: MStevenson@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr M Storey :
Leading Practitioner

Name: Mr M Storey

Role: Leading Practitioner

Email: MStorey@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr P Owens :
Deputy Head Teacher - Curriculum / Timet

Name: Mr P Owens

Role: Deputy Head Teacher - Curriculum / Timetable / Options

Email: POwens@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr R Gates :
Teacher

Name: Mr R Gates

Role: Teacher

Email: RGates@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs C Jarvis :
Assistant Subject Leader

Name: Mrs C Jarvis

Role: Assistant Subject Leader

Email: CJarvis@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs G Bardon :
Leading Practitioner

Name: Mrs G Bardon

Role: Leading Practitioner

Email: GBardon@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs H Douthwaite :
Teacher

Name: Mrs H Douthwaite

Role: Teacher

Email: HDouthwaite@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs J Bunker :
Teacher

Name: Mrs J Bunker

Role: Teacher

Email: JBunker@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs J Jeffrey :
Higher Level Teaching Assistant

Name: Mrs J Jeffrey

Role: Higher Level Teaching Assistant

Email: JJeffrey@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs L Atchison :
Teacher

Name: Mrs L Atchison

Role: Teacher

Email: LAtchison1@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs L Barnes :
Teacher

Name: Mrs L Barnes

Role: Teacher

Email: LBarnes@hartonacademy.co.uk

Top