Science

Key Stage 3 (Years 7 and 8)

All students broadly follow the QCA scheme of work published by central government.

This has been adapted to suit the resources and skills available within Harton Academy and has undergone some development to ensure adequate differentiation to suit the individual needs. Students in KS3 have three hours of science per week.

Scheme of work

From September 2018 a new SOW will be followed by year 7 and 8 students.

Aims

  • to more actively engage pupils at the beginning of their secondary Science education;
  • to prepare students more thoroughly for the new, more challenging GCSE qualifications introduced from September 2016.
  • to properly embed key practical, mathematical and thinking skills which are transferable to other subjects.
  • to help build resilience and mindfulness in students to help them cope with the rigours of examination only assessment at KS4.
Year 7
Module 1 Module 2 Module 3
Biology 1
Chemistry 1
Physics 1
Biology 2
Chemistry 2
Physics 2
Biology 3
Chemistry 3
Physics 3
Year 8
Module 1 Module 2 Module 3
Biology 1
Chemistry 1
Physics 1
Biology 2
Chemistry 2
Physics 2
Biology 3
Chemistry 3
Physics 3

At the end of each module students will sit a 1 hour examination to assess their progress. This follows the same scheme of assessment used at GCSE level and should prepare students well for Y11.

Pupils will use exercise books for work completion during each of the modules and PowerPoint presentations are also used. All year 7 and 8 students cover the same material with differentiation taken care of by classroom teachers to tailor the course to fit the needs of their classes.  This helps to standardise Science lessons for all.

Key Stage 3 (Year 9)

From September 2018 students in year 9 will begin building the skills they need for the new 9-1 GCSE Science courses.

They will begin by completing 3 key practical investigations (one Biology, one Chemistry and one Physics) for the first half term. They will then complete units with Pre-GCSE topics in Biology, Chemistry and Physics.

Students are taught by three separate specialist teachers at this stage. This will culminate in a formal examination in March 2016. Results of this, alongside all KS3 data will be used to select students we feel are best suited for the separate science GCSE’s.

Key Stage 4

Students currently follow a broad Science curriculum leading to the award of 2 or 3 science GCSEs. During the two years most students will study for a GCSE Combined science qualification. A select number of students will study for separate Science qualifications in GCSE Biology, GCSE Chemistry and GCSE Physics. These students will be invited to take these qualifications as an option provided they have a high enough KS3 level to cope with the demands of the courses.

Students in Key Stage 4 will follow one of the courses below. Further information on about the content can be found using the link provided.

https://qualifications.pearson.com/en/qualifications/edexcel-gcses/sciences-2016.html

Edexcel GCSE Combined Science

Students are always taught by three separate specialist teachers at this stage and will have 3 lessons per fortnight with each one. Students will cover small modules in Biology, Physics and Chemistry. All modules are assessed through six 1 hour 10 minute examinations (2 in each of the Science disciplines) which take place in June of year 11. The scores for all six examinations are then added together to give an overall double 9-1 grade (e.g. (5-5 or 4-5)

There is now no coursework component to the course however students are required to complete 18 core practical activities throughout the two years of the course which will feature in their final examinations. This allows an assessment of their practical skills to be made within the confines of the existing tests.

Edexcel Separate Sciences (GCSE Biology, GCSE Chemistry and GCSE Physics)

This pathway will be studied by some year 10 and 11 students and acceptance onto it is by invitation only.

The courses covered include all of the content studied by GCSE Combined Science students but is enhanced by the coverage of more content providing great levels of challenge for more able students and also a better transition onto the Science A-Level courses. Students taught by three separate specialist teachers and will have 4 lessons per fortnight with each one.

All 3 subjects are assessed through examinations which take place in June of year 11. Students will complete two 1 hour 45 minute papers for each GCSE with marks then combined to give a single overall 9-1 grade.

There is again no coursework component to the course and students are required to complete 8 core practical activities for each GCSE throughout the two years. These will again feature in their final examinations allowing an assessment of their practical skills to be made within the confines of the existing tests.

Last updated: 30-04-18

Key Staff

Dr C Sinnett :
Teacher

Name: Dr C Sinnett

Role: Teacher

Email: CSinnett@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss F Fletcher :
Teacher

Name: Miss F Fletcher

Role: Teacher

Email: FFletcher@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss F Jessup :
Co-ordinator of Chemistry

Name: Miss F Jessup

Role: Co-ordinator of Chemistry

Email: FJessup@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss K Walker :
Subject Leader

Name: Miss K Walker

Role: Subject Leader

Email: KWalker@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss L Robison :
Teacher

Name: Miss L Robison

Role: Teacher

Email: LRobison@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr A Holder :
Teacher

Name: Mr A Holder

Role: Teacher

Email: AHolder@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr A Williams :
Dir. of Applied and Community Learning

Name: Mr A Williams

Role: Dir. of Applied and Community Learning

Email: AWilliams@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr D Percy :
Teacher

Name: Mr D Percy

Role: Teacher

Email: dpercy@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr G Varley :
Assistant Head Teacher

Name: Mr G Varley

Role: Assistant Head Teacher

Email: GVarley@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr J Law :
Teacher

Name: Mr J Law

Role: Teacher

Email: JLaw@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr J Peel :
Assistant Head Teacher

Name: Mr J Peel

Role: Assistant Head Teacher

Email: JPeel@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr J Smith :
Teacher

Name: Mr J Smith

Role: Teacher

Email: JSmith@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr N Harrison :
Science Technician

Name: Mr N Harrison

Role: Science Technician

Email: NHarrison@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs H Pearson :
Co-ordinator of Biology

Name: Mrs H Pearson

Role: Co-ordinator of Biology

Email: Hpearson@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs K Longstaff :
Teacher

Name: Mrs K Longstaff

Role: Teacher

Email: klongstaff@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs K Parkin :
Higher Level Teaching Assistant

Name: Mrs K Parkin

Role: Higher Level Teaching Assistant

Email: kparkin@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs R Green :
Leading Practitioner

Name: Mrs R Green

Role: Leading Practitioner

Email: RGreen@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs S Laidler :
Teacher

Name: Mrs S Laidler

Role: Teacher

Email: SLaidler@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs S Wallace :
Teacher

Name: Mrs S Wallace

Role: Teacher

Email: SWallace@hartonacademy.co.uk

Top