History

Why study this subject?

If you enjoy discovering what makes people and countries behave as they do; if you want to make sense of the complicated world we live in; if you want to gain skills which are highly valued by a huge variety of employers.

What will the subject include?

  • Component 1: Breadth Study
  • Component 2: Depth Study
  • Component 3: Historical Investigation (Personal Study) 
  • The Making of a Superpower: USA, 1865–1975 (Breadth Study)
  • Royal Authority and the Angevin Kings, 1154–1216 (Depth Study)

For further information: www.aqa.org.uk

Where will it lead?

Successful completion of the A-Level History course offers a huge range of opportunities for the future.  It could lead to further study at University or a career in Law, Teaching, Research, Business Management, Museums, Broadcasting, TV and Film.

Which other subjects complement this subject?

Politics, Law, English Literature, Geography, Psychology, English Language.

Subject specific requirements?

You need to have a minimum level 5/6 in GCSE History.  A willingness to work hard, reading extensively and able to undertake your own independent learning.

For examination board link, click here.

Key Staff

Miss K Dixon :
ITT Strategic Lead

Name: Miss K Dixon

Role: ITT Strategic Lead

Email: KDixon@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss L Chesterton :
Teacher

Name: Miss L Chesterton

Role: Teacher

Email: LChesterton@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr D Royal :
Head of Year

Name: Mr D Royal

Role: Head of Year

Email: DRoyal@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr J Barraclough :
Teacher

Name: Mr J Barraclough

Role: Teacher

Email: jbarraclough@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr M Ellison :
Teacher

Name: Mr M Ellison

Role: Teacher

Email: MEllison@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs C Neal :
Subject Leader

Name: Mrs C Neal

Role: Subject Leader

Email: CNeal@hartonacademy.co.uk

Top