English

Welcome to English at Harton Academy

English is a rich and varied subject. We are passionate about helping all of our students to become confident and powerful readers, writers and speakers. With this in mind, we aim to create engaging and challenging lessons for students of all ages and abilities.

Across the key stages, there is much that can be done at home to support your child’s English skills. The single most effective way to help your child to succeed is to encourage them to read at home. From Year 9 onwards, students should read as widely as possible: both fiction and non-fiction. For suggestions on what to read, see the links below:

We hope that your son or daughter’s study of English at Harton is engaging, rewarding and challenging.

Key Stage 3 English

Independent reading and reading for pleasure is consistently encouraged.

Class readers are filtered throughout the year.

Spoken English (taking the form of speaking and listening activities) is integrated throughout the year as well as taught explicitly.

Year 7

Theme: Identity & Family

  • Transition Unit: Autobiography
  • Archetypal Characters
  • Prose+ Unit: The Garbage King
  • 2nd Prose Novel (teacher’s choice linked to theme)
  • Archetypal Plots
  • Poetry+ Unit: Poems from Different Cultures
  • Travel Writing
  • Drama+ Unit: Shakespeare

Year 8

Theme: Heroes & Villains

  • Transition Unit: Heroes and Villains
  • Prose+ Unit: The Ruby in the Smoke
  • 2nd Prose Novel (teacher’s choice linked to theme)
  • Language Lab: The Power of Voice
  • Language Lab: Newsdesk
  • Unseen Poetry
  • Non-Fiction EMC Sporting Shorts
  • Narrative Writing
  • Drama+ Unit: Shakespeare

Year 9

Theme: Social Conscience

  • Transition Unit: Shakespearean Tragedy
  • Prose+ Unit: Of Mice and Men
  • 2nd Prose Novel (teacher’s choice linked to theme)
  • Post-16 Taster Lessons
  • Language Lab: Pride and Prejudice
  • Poetry: WW1 Poetry
  • Diverse Shorts Unit: Justice, Change and Action
  • Non-fiction: Happy News
  • Contemporary Drama+ Unit, including author study: Willy Russell

 

Key Stage 4 English

At Key Stage 4, our students study for two separate GCSEs:

  • GCSE English Language: WJEC Eduqas
  • GCSE English Literature: Edexcel

The table below shows a breakdown of the two courses and the exams that students will sit. All students sit their final exams at the end of Year 11, although we carry out practice papers and mini-assessments across the two year course.

English Language: WJEC/Eduqas  English Literature: Edexcel

Component 1 : 20th Century Literature Reading Study and Creative Prose Writing

 40% of GCSE – Exam 1 hour 45 minutes

Section A (20%) – Reading

Understanding of one unseen prose extract (about 60-100 lines) of literature from the 20th century. You will answer a range of structured questions.

Section B (20%) – Prose Writing

One creative writing task selected from a choice of four titles.

Component 1: Shakespeare and Post-1914 Literature

 50% of GCSE – Exam 1 hour 45 minutes

 Section A: Shakespeare (Students will study either ‘Romeo and Juliet’ or ‘Macbeth’)

Two part question:

Part 1: You will be asked to read a short extract (approx. 30 lines) and write a close language analysis of the extract.

Part 2: You will be asked to explore how a theme from the extract is explored elsewhere in the play. You need to focus on maintaining a critical style and the show understanding of the relationship between the text and the context in which it was written.

Section B: Post-1914 British Play or novel (All students will study ‘An Inspector Calls’)

Answer one question from a choice of two.

A quotation will form the stimulus for the questions (plot, setting, character and theme – one or more)

SPG

Component 2: 19th and 21st Century Non-Fiction Reading Study and Transactional/Persuasive Writing

 60% of GCSE – 2 hour exam

 Section A (30%) – Reading

Understanding of two extracts (about 900-1200 words in total) of high-quality unseen non-fiction writing, one from the 19th century, the other from the 21st century. You will answer a range of structured questions

Section B (30%) – Writing

Two compulsory transactional, persuasive and/or discursive writing tasks

Component 2: 19th-century Novel and Poetry since 1789

 50% of GCSE – Exam 2 hours 15 minutes

 Section A – 19th-century Novel (Students will study either ‘A Christmas Carol’ or ‘Jekyll and Hyde’)

Two part question

Part 1: A close language study of an extract (approx. 400 words)

Part 2: An essay question on different aspects of the text, exploring one or more areas of plot, setting, character or theme

Section B – Poetry since 1789

Part 1: Poetry Anthology: Comparison (language, form, structure and context) of a named poem and a poem of your choice

Part 2: Comparison (language, form and structure) of two unseen contemporary poems linked by theme.

Component 3: Spoken Language

One presentation/speech, including responses to questions and feedback

How to support your child to succeed at GCSE English

There are many ways in which to support your child with their English studies:

Key Staff

Miss C Graham :
Teacher

Name: Miss C Graham

Role: Teacher

Email: CGraham@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss J Dawson :
Teacher

Name: Miss J Dawson

Role: Teacher

Email: JDawson@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss K Devlin :
Teacher

Name: Miss K Devlin

Role: Teacher

Email: KDevlin@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss L Wolfendale :
Teacher

Name: Miss L Wolfendale

Role: Teacher

Email: LWolfendale@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr A Hudson :
Deputy Subject Leader

Name: Mr A Hudson

Role: Deputy Subject Leader

Email: DHudson@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr A Reavley :
Teacher

Name: Mr A Reavley

Role: Teacher

Email: AReavley@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr A Richardson :
Assistant Subject Leader - in charge of

Name: Mr A Richardson

Role: Assistant Subject Leader - in charge of KS4 data and tracking

Email: ARichardson@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr C Quinn :
Teacher

Name: Mr C Quinn

Role: Teacher

Email: CQuinn@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr J Tiernan :
Subject Leader

Name: Mr J Tiernan

Role: Subject Leader

Email: JTiernan@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr J Ward :
Teacher / Technical Support

Name: Mr J Ward

Role: Teacher / Technical Support

Email: JWard@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr P Stebbing :
Teacher

Name: Mr P Stebbing

Role: Teacher

Email: PStebbing@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs A Ross :
Teacher

Name: Mrs A Ross

Role: Teacher

Email: ARoss@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs B Turvill :
Teacher

Name: Mrs B Turvill

Role: Teacher

Email: BTurvill@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs C Greenan :
Teacher

Name: Mrs C Greenan

Role: Teacher

Email: CGreenan@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs F Hutchinson :
Assistant Subject Leader

Name: Mrs F Hutchinson

Role: Assistant Subject Leader

Email: FHutchinson@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs G Quinn :
Teacher

Name: Mrs G Quinn

Role: Teacher

Email: gquinn@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs H Astrop :
Teacher / Head of Year 7

Name: Mrs H Astrop

Role: Teacher / Head of Year 7

Email: HAstrop@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs J Gray :
Specialist Literacy Teacher

Name: Mrs J Gray

Role: Specialist Literacy Teacher

Email: JGray@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs K McCarty :
Subject Leader for Media Studies / Film

Name: Mrs K McCarty

Role: Subject Leader for Media Studies / Film Studies

Email: KMcCarty@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs S Connolly :
Literacy Co-ordinator

Name: Mrs S Connolly

Role: Literacy Co-ordinator

Email: SConnolly1@hartonacademy.co.uk

Top