Mathematics

Why study this subject?

Mathematics is a key subject for students wishing to study the Sciences and Computing. It requires a logical mind and the ability of students to develop problem solving strategies.

If you have enjoyed higher tier GCSE Mathematics and have an interest in Problem solving and working with numbers this could be the A level for you. It is an excellent subject to support Higher Education application choices, particularly in Mathematics, Science, Engineering and Computing.

What will the subject include?

Pure Mathematics – Algebra, Trigonometry, Geometry and Calculus.
Statistics – Data Handling, Probability Theory and Hypothesis Testing.
Mechanics – the Mathematics for Physics.

Where will it lead?

A level mathematics will lead to studying at degree level particularly in mathematics, science, engineering and computing. It is can also lead to work as an accountant or statistician.

Which other subjects complement this subject?

Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Computing, Business Studies, Psychology.

Subject specific requirements?

A minimum level 7 in GCSE Mathematics.

For examination board link, click here.

Key Staff

Miss A Agar :
Leading Practitioner

Name: Miss A Agar

Role: Leading Practitioner

Email: AAgar@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss R Smith :
Teacher

Name: Miss R Smith

Role: Teacher

Email: RSmith@hartonacademy.co.uk

Miss S Grainger :
Subject Leader

Name: Miss S Grainger

Role: Subject Leader

Email: SGrainger@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr A Gordon :
Teacher

Name: Mr A Gordon

Role: Teacher

Email: agordon@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr A Williams :
Teacher

Name: Mr A Williams

Role: Teacher

Email: AWilliams1@harton-tc.co.uk

Mr M Close :
Teacher in Charge of Assess, Rep, Rec(KS

Name: Mr M Close

Role: Teacher in Charge of Assess, Rep, Rec(KS3/4)

Email: MClose@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr M Stevenson :
Leading Practitioner

Name: Mr M Stevenson

Role: Leading Practitioner

Email: MStevenson@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr P Owens :
Deputy Head Teacher - Curriculum / Timet

Name: Mr P Owens

Role: Deputy Head Teacher - Curriculum / Timetable / Options

Email: POwens@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mr R Gates :
Teacher

Name: Mr R Gates

Role: Teacher

Email: RGates@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs C Jarvis :
Assistant Subject Leader

Name: Mrs C Jarvis

Role: Assistant Subject Leader

Email: CJarvis@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs G Bardon :
Leading Practitioner

Name: Mrs G Bardon

Role: Leading Practitioner

Email: GBardon@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs J Bunker :
Teacher in charge of KS5 Maths

Name: Mrs J Bunker

Role: Teacher in charge of KS5 Maths

Email: JBunker@hartonacademy.co.uk

Mrs L Atchison :
Teacher

Name: Mrs L Atchison

Role: Teacher

Email: LAtchison1@hartonacademy.co.uk

Top